Divergent Movie Review


divergent poster**Warning: Spoilers for the book and movie!**

Saturday, I had the pleasure of seeing Divergent!  I had really wanted to see it on opening weekend, but didn’t have the chance to.  I’m glad I got to see it on the big screen, though—it was definitely worth it.  Firstly, going to the theater was WAAAYYYYY cheaper than usual, because I went to a different theater (usually, I go to AMC).  I got a huge thing of popcorn and the biggest cup of Coke I’ve ever had in my life for a really decent price 😀

Divergent was so incredibly awesome!  I was very pleased with it.  I loved it, I loved it, I loved it.  It was epic, intense, action-packed—basically everything I’d hoped for.  There were some minor problems I had with a few things they changed (why couldn’t Christina have gotten the flag?), but the movie was so well-done that it outweighed all of my small complaints.

The acting was incredible, and all of my doubts I harbored about the actors vanished when I saw the movie.  Shailene Woodley was perfection (I’m going to keep mentioning that throughout this review), as were Theo James (who definitely grew on me during the movie :D), Zoë Kravitz, and all the others who I was unsure about.  That scene when Tris’ mom died got me teary-eyed.  The fight scenes were awesome, too.

When I first heard that they’d cast Shailene Woodley as Tris, I was familiar with her, but I’d never seen anything she was in.  Her acting skills in Divergent blew me away.  I also love her voice—she sounded very innocent, but curious.

Theo James was one obstacle I had trouble overcoming until I saw the movie.  I’d never heard of him (though I recently found out that he was on Downton Abbey), so I was skeptical.  But OMG THEO JAMES IS, LIKE, TOTALLY AMAZING AND SO IS ANSEL ELGORT AND OMG I LOVE THEM they’re so handsome and amazing ^.*

Theo james

I was super surprised to find out that he was in his late twenties.

Ansel elgort… They’re good actors, too.

Ahem.  Sorry about that.  My fangirl was showing, wasn’t it?  (And, yes, I wore my Divergent shirt to the movie.  In fact, after the movie, I was like, “I should have worn my boots!  I would have looked more Dauntless!!!”)

When I saw Veronica Roth’s cameo, I literally jumped in my seat and whispered to my friend, “Oh my gosh, it’s her!  It’s Veronica Roth!!!”

I’m very fidgety when it comes to watching movies, especially action movies.  I was on the edge of my seat watching Divergent, even though I just reread the book a few weeks ago O_o  I had many sitting positions while watching:

rubbing bridge of nose

Except, my eyes were open. Der—I was watching the movie!

people sitting back

The guy in the red wearing the watch with his fingers in his mouth would be the most accurate of all…

fear my grin

I was grinning at all the wrong times XD

 

For most of the really intense scenes (except for the one with Tris and her dying mom), I was grinning like a maniac.  It made me laugh when I realized it, but it also got me thinking that I probably shouldn’t have been grinning.  Divergent, when you think about it, is a very chilling and disturbing story.  Maybe I was just SO DANG EXCITED that I couldn’t help but grin in anticipation.  Heheh.

Overall, I really, really (really 100x) loved this movie.  Like, a lot.  Go see it if you haven’t, because I think you’ll like it, too!  If you have seen Divergent, what were your initial thoughts?  Did you love it?  Not so much?  I think I made clear what I thought of it 😀  Can’t wait for Insurgent, peeps!

*P.S. I own none of these pictures.

5 thoughts on “Divergent Movie Review

Let me know your thoughts!

