Bout of Books 10: Wrap-Up


bout of booksHey, everyone!  The Bout of Books 10 has finished!  Eeeek! I really, really loved participating in this read-a-thon.  It was so much fun, and though I didn’t participate in any of the challenges or chats, it was awesome 😀  I think the Bout of Books really helped to remind me how much I can read if I really do put aside some time for reading.

My goals were to read four books, three of which were mainstream.  I chose the mainstream books on purpose, because I’m slower to pick them up for some reason.  Kind of like vanilla ice cream.  I’d rather go with chocolate chip, but when I do go with vanilla, I’m reminded of how much I LOVE vanilla (true story)!  So, chocolate chip ice cream represents less popular books, and vanilla represents mainstream (oh my God, how did we get to talking about ice cream?).

I ended up reading two books this week, Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, and It Had to Be You by Cecily von Ziegesar.  I’ve typed “Ziegesar” so many times that I actually can spell it now 😄  Now, using Under the Never Sky as my first mainstream book for the read-a-thon didn’t exactly help my chocolate chip/vanilla analogy, because I was really disappointed after reading it.

Now, apparently I really enjoyed It Had to Be You, the chocolate chip.  Uhm… yeah.  That’s not exactly helping in poor vanilla’s favor… flavor… heheh.

Is it a coincidence?  Probably.  See, I think my problem is, I will read mainstream books, but usually they’re part of a series that I already know I love, or by an author whose books I already know I enjoy.  Like Cassandra Clare, or Rick Riordan, or Alexandra Bracken, or Richelle Mead, or Suzanne Collins.

I think I’m anxious about not liking a book that the whole world has raved about because others’ raves leave me with expectations, whereas with less popular books, I can go in clear-minded, working with a blank slate.

Or, maybe this whole chocolate chip over vanilla thing (bookwise) goes back years.  When I started going to the library again, June 25 of 2012 (so a few months before I became a blogger), I didn’t know anything about “mainstream” books or “popular” books.  I just walked into the YA section and picked a book off the shelf.  (Actually, that didn’t happen because I was there to find the second book in the Dead Is series and they didn’t have it… they ended up ordering it for me…)  But on other trips to the library back in the day, that is how it happened.  I pretty much judged books by their covers (and summaries, at times, though summaries don’t usually grab me), and I chose what looked good to me.  Most of these books, I don’t think, are very well-known, but I really enjoyed many of them.

Ah… anyway.  (I have no idea where I’m going with this.)  Maybe I was hoping to read great mainstream books during the read-a-thon, and my brain would be like, “OMG, these are great, we must read more mainstream!”  But that didn’t happen.  I think I’ll always be more partial to less popular books, but that could change.

Anyway, back to my original point of this post (sorry about going off about ice cream…).  Here’s my final wrap-up update:

Bout of Books 10: Final Update

Books read: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi (5/12 – 5/14), It Had to Be You by Cecily von Ziegesar (5/14 – 5/16), Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (4% complete as of Saturday)
Total number of pages read: 798

I started Throne of Glass on Friday, I believe.  I’m having a bit of trouble getting into it (I’m only on page 15).  I think I’m going to finish up the books I borrowed from the library so I can have time to just relax with ToG and not try to rush through it.


I think I did a great job with this read-a-thon, and I think y’all did even better!  Congratulations to everyone who participated in the Bout of Books 10!

Tell me how you did in the comments, or leave me a link to your wrap-up posts.  Also, do you have a book preference?  Chocolate chip or vanilla?  What do you think of the strange conclusions I made about mainstream books?  😀

I’ll talk to you guys later,

-littleonion

7 thoughts on “Bout of Books 10: Wrap-Up

  1. This is funny. I was cracking up for most of it. I’m a vanilla / vanilla chocolate chip swirl cookie. Meaning, I usually pick books that are either mainstream or are aren’t mainstream…yet…books that are on the cusp.

    Like

    • Haha, this post is the result of me rambling about randomness 😀 That great that you’re a vanilla chocolate chip swirl cookie! I wish I could be more like that. Maybe I had a mainstream horror incident which is why I don’t try out new popular books… hmm… I’ll have to think about that, lol. Glad you enjoyed! Now I’m curious to know what everyone is!

      Like

      • Thanks! I was worried my swirl would be cheating but oh well:) I have read some amazing mainstreamers but I’ve read some awful mainstreamers. But that goes for chocolate as well ya know?

        Like

      • We are:) I am such a forgiving reader so I feel when I don’t like something, it’s for good reason, BUT then someone comes along and loves the book. So it really is a matter of “different strokes for different folks!” But yeah, I’m left asking the same thing, “how did this get published??”

        Like

Let me know your thoughts!

