Quote #20


“I tried to be someone else
But nothing seemed to change
I know now, this is who I really am inside.”
~30 Seconds To Mars, “The Kill”

*Lyrics from metrolyrics.com*


I realized I hadn’t posted a quote in a while, and I recently heard “The Kill,” a song I hadn’t heard in a while.  I decided to use this song as my quote.

I looked up the lyrics to make sure I got them accurate, and as I read the line above, it reminded me of a picture I saw on the Internet the other day.  It kind of made me rear back for a moment, since it totally freaked me out (it’s a freaky image—or at least I thought so), but it surprised me how I’d encountered two similar messages in a matter of days.  You can find the photo here.  Basically, it’s a photo of the Little Mermaid making an attempt at stitching her tail back on after gaining legs.  It’s the comment below the photo, though, that made the song remind me of the picture.

I think it’s a good reminder, though.

-littleonion

 

6 thoughts on “Quote #20

  1. This is one of my all time favourite songs, because of the awesome message and lyrics.
    I’ve seen that painting of The Little Mermaid before, and it makes me sad every time I see it. It’s such a shame that we all feel like we have to change for society or our family or friends. We should be who we are.

    Like

    • It’s one of my favorites as well. There are always those songs with a message that makes you sit back for a minute and contemplate.

      The painting made me so incredibly sad. It’s so truthful and raw… We should be who we are, but I think that’s a hard thing for a lot of people to accept.

      Like

Let me know your thoughts!

