Book Review: City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6) by Cassandra Clare — Part I


cohfTitle: City of Heavenly Fire

Author: Cassandra Clare

Summary: ERCHOMAI, SEBASTIAN HAD SAID.

I am coming.

 Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance? Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world changed in the sixth and last installment of the Mortal Instruments series! -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: This review is going to be mega spoilery.  It’s also more of a discussion, because I’m going to be discussing (I’m trying to make my notes as comprehend-able as possible.  Because of this discussion-like review, it’s going to be SPECTACULARLY long, so why don’t you go grab a snack, maybe some Coke, and kick back and fangirl/fanboy with me 😀  Or you can just skim through the review… that works, too, tee hee!**

Hey, guys!  So, the time has come: City of Heavenly Fire was released!  It was so freaking exciting!  I pretty much went over my Amazon experience (which was awesome) in this post, but I’ll review:

May 26
My copy of CoHF was shipped!
Signed up for Amazon to text me updates on shipping progress so I could stalk my package while I should have been doing something productive

May 27
CoHF arrived in my city — 3 a.m.
CoHF was in the hands of my local postal carrier — 7:30 a.m.
CoHF was delivered — 4 p.m. (this was followed with several “OH, MY GOD”s
I began reading — 4:30 p.m. (with minor interruptions, like eating and stuff)

May 28
I forced myself to go to sleep — 2 a.m.

Yeah…

But this was such a fun and positive experience!  I loved CoHF so much, and now I get to share my notes with you guys!  I actually wrote in a notebook for this review, which I NEVER do (see why here).  I have many pages of notes and quotes, so let’s just jump right into this 😀 (P.S. I’m trying to go in chronological order, so I’m so sorry that I’m jumping from character to character and section to section in this review… Bear with me!)

I was super surprised when I opened the package and saw how big the book was!  I haven’t seen a book so thick in ages, man.  I actually measured it (because this is what I do when I’m not reading: I measure books), and it’s just over two inches from cover to cover.  OMG.

When I started reading, thankfully I hadn’t been spoiled and didn’t know anything but the teasers Cassandra Clare has been dropping for months.  I knew that some people had received their copies early, and I was like, “God, help me if I’m spoiled when I’m reading this book.”

But, I wasn’t ^.^  I had come up with a new theory about Isabelle on the Saturday prior to the book’s release.  I saw this one picture online, from Tumblr, I think, and I was going to blog about it before the book dropped, but I wasn’t sure if it was real:

theoriesAnyway, I was like… WHO SHIPS ALEC AND SIMON?!?  I’d never heard of that, but I guess it’s a thing.  My train of thoughts:

Supposing this is real, what would happen that would bring Alec and Simon together?  What do these guys have in common?  Izzy: She’s Alec’s lil’ sis, and Simon’s girlfriend (though they hadn’t DTR’ed yet—raise your hand if you get the reference xD).  So something bad was probably going to happen, I was so sure of it.  And, y’all know that we’ve been hearing some crazy awesome theories about Isabelle Lightwood, so why not join that bandwagon?

My theory was that Izzy was going to die or something very bad was going to happen to her.  (Click here for a song that reminds me of our beloved Iz.)

Just remember this for a sec, because I’m skipping to another character—REMEMBER THE THEORY!

“So have we DTRed now?”

Isabelle shrugged.  “I have no idea what that means.”

Simon hid the fact that he was inordinately pleased by this.  “Are we officially boyfriend and girlfriend?  Is there a Shadowhunter ritual?  Should I change my Facebook Status from ‘it’s complicated’ to ‘in a relationship’?”

Isabelle screwed up her nose adorably.  “You have a book that’s also a face?” -p. 532

So, early on, we learn that Lilith strengthened Sebastian (I can’t remember if that was revealed in CoLS) and no Shadowhunter weapons could harm him.  WHAT THE ACTUAL BLEEP?  I was like, what are they going to do about this?!  HOW WILL HE DIE???  WILL HE DIE???  OMG, WILL HE NOT DIE?!?

Moving on to Emma Carstairs.  I really need to look at a family tree and learn more about where she came from.  Anyway, when she was rescuing Julian’s siblings and she found Sebastian, I was literally like, “Oh, my god.  Oh, my god.  Oh, my god.”  Like, WHAT WAS HAPPENING?

But Emma was BUH-RAVE.  The way she threw her knife at Sebastian like a boss (even though it didn’t hurt him), EVEN THOUGH SHE KNEW THAT SEBASTIAN WAS A CRAZY PSYCHO… BUH-BAYUM.

And that was just the prologue.  By the time I reached Part 1, I was so hyper, I probably could have run around the block.

Magnus, for some reason, reminds me of Adrian from Bloodlines.  I have no idea why, I mean, they literally have NOTHING in common.  I think it’s just their personalities… maybe they have that in common.  It was kind of funny that Magnus was so rude to Jace (though I understand why, Jace being besties with Alec and all), because if my memory serves, Magnus really enjoyed Will’s company.  But when ol’ Magnus showed up to talk to Alec when everyone was getting ready to leave for Idris, I was like, SQUEEEEEE!  And then they kissed!  Wahoo!

I’d actually forgotten how much I liked Jace.  I think it’s because whenever I think of him, I see Jamie Campbell Bower’s face, and I really didn’t agree with that casting… Meh.

So, at that part when Simon, Maia, and Jordan were waiting for their takeout, Simon was all, “No one’s tried to kill me in a while, maybe they got bored.”  But it was obvious that some crazy killer would be at the door when he went to see if their takeout was there yet.  AND BAM.  A Dark Shadowhunter was at the door.  *Shakes head*  Naïve.  AND THEN MAUREEN’S VAMPY PEOPLE FOUND HIM, UGH.  AND SHE DRESSED HIM UP LIKE A FREAKING DOLL.

Okay, back to the theory.  So, when Izzy, Clary, Alec, Jace, and Simon were in the demon realm, Iz was severely injured, and I was like, OMG THIS IS IT.  And then Simon healed her with his vampy blood.  Now, Alec didn’t really like Simon, but Simon was feeling really weak after practically emptying himself of all blood, so Alec was all… “Yo.  You can feed on me.”

?

??

???

In the end, nothing crazy happened between them, but it was really funny.

Jace raised his eyebrows.  “Walk of shame, boys?”

Alec glowered. […] “It wasn’t sexy,” he said. 

“It was a little sexy,” Simon said.

“It wasn’t,” said Alec.

“I had some feelings,” said Simon.

“Do feel free to agonize about it on your own time,” said Alec. -p. 515-516

What was that weird relationship-thing going on with the Seelie Queen and Sebastian?  He was just trying to charm her, right?  Since he totally had the hots for Clary (uhh…).

Speaking of Clary, I kind of felt like her personality had evaporated.  I don’t know why.  Main characters are usually not my favorites, but she just seemed… I don’t know.  Sometimes she had her personality, and sometimes she didn’t.  That’s probably one of my only complaints.  But this book reminded me more and more that Clary was just a kid who’d been dragged into this crazy life.  Aren’t they all, though?  (Harry, Percy, Katniss…)

Okay… so.  Our first death was Jordan Kyle, killed at the hand of Sebastian.  Let us have a moment of silence.

**********

Alright.  Let’s discuss.  Jordan obviously cared for Simon, and after Simon was taken due to the whole takeout incident, Jordan and Maia were going to try to find him.  So they go to the werewolves’ HQ to see the Praetor Lupus, and when they arrived, they saw that their home had been turned to the land of dead — so many werewolves had been slaughtered, the Praetor Lupus’ throat had been slit, and Maia and Jordan went over to see the PL.  Then, they were talking and Sebastian literally stabbed Jordan ALL THE WAY THROUGH THE CHEST.  Like, NO BATTLE!  NO NOTHING, JORDAN WAS JUST, BAM, DEAD.

I had to read that passage so many times because it was really devastating and shocking.  I don’t think it was for shock appeal, though, because Sebastian was clearly trying to send a message to those who fought against him.  Well, he flipping succeeded.

I didn’t cry, but I really wanted to scream.  But, that’s okay.  It’s not like I needed my heart or anything.  Really.  I’m functioning fine without it.

It made me really sad, though, when in a few of Simon’s parts, he thought Jordan was still alive.  And when Luke told him the news… D:

Jordan told Maia he loved her.  She had the chance to tell him she loved him back, shortly before his death.  I get that she was still upset about Jordan turning her into a wolf, but I felt really bad for Jordan, and he was trying so hard…

Also, Maia had something to tell Jordan, which was basically that she was breaking up with him.  Ahh… there goes my heart again.  *sarcastic clapping*  Thank you!  Thank you for ripping my heart out.

At least Jordan didn’t die, like, seconds after Maia broke up with him.  Because, let’s face it, that would have been cold, man.  COLD.

I really appreciated how detailed the cover is.  When Emma told Clary that her weapon sucked, Clary went out and got a new one, which turned out to be a Morgenstern weapon.  Now, apparently a pattern of black stars symbolize a Morgenstern weapon, and if you take a close look at the cover, you’ll see that the sword Clary is holding bears the stars.  Kewl 😀  OHH, I JUST REALIZED THAT THE SCENE DEPICTED ON THE COVER IS PROBABLY THE SCENE WHERE CLARY STABS SEBASTIAN AND TURNS HIM INTO JONATHAN!!!  MORE ON THAT LATER!!!

**Random mention of author’s writing style: LOVE the comedy aspects and the drama and the romance and everything.  The sarcasm is brill, yo, and the politics of this world are so thought-out.**

My favorite thing about fantasy is the way each author is unique with how they tweak the abilities and weaknesses of their fantasy characters, like the vampires and the warlocks and the werewolves, ya feel me?


Okay, guys, I’m seeing by the little scroll bar thingy on the side of my post that it’s getting to be really long, so I’m going to end this discussion here.  But, part two will be up shortly, so you can see my finishing thoughts over there!  ‘Kay?  ‘Cause I don’t like to bore you guys 😀

Check out some of my favorite City of Heavenly Fire quotes here!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6) by Cassandra Clare — Part I

  1. It’s funny you said Magnus reminded you of Adrian because Alec reminded me of Sidney in “Bloodlines” and ” The Golden Lily ” with his whole I don’t like vampires and I’m better then them bs. When Simon went in to save Izzy and he was like you’re not her family! Like seriously? What’s wrong with u. I never really liked Alec, he was one of the few that I wouldn’t mind to much had he died, I mean it would’ve been sad but… Yea. I think Magnus could do better tbh, I mean I do ship it because they’re cute and all that but still. When I look at Gideon and Gabriel (whom I love) from TID and I look at Alec… ,.he’s my least favorite Lightwood (not counting parents) though I love Izzy she’s awesome and she reminds me of myself (:

    Like

    • OMG now that you say that, Alec DOES remind me of Sydney!!! I think when Alec said “you’re not her family,” he was just so scared to lose Izzy because he already lost Max, he pretty much lost his parents, who weren’t really there for him, and he didn’t want Izzy’s condition to worsen.

      Hmm… I wouldn’t have not minded if Alec had died, because I didn’t want another Lightwood to die! Haha, but there were some points in books (City of Lost Souls) where Alec just annoyed me so freaking much. Like, why with this induced drama?!?

      I love Izzy, too 😀 Who wouldn’t?

      Like

Let me know your thoughts!

