Book Review: The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle


timosTitle: The Infinite Moment of Us

Author: Lauren Myracle

Summary: For as long as she can remember, Wren Gray’s goal has been to please her parents. But as high school graduation nears, so does an uncomfortable realization: Pleasing her parents once overlapped with pleasing herself, but now… not so much. Wren needs to honor her own desires, but how can she if she doesn’t even know what they are?

Charlie Parker, on the other hand, is painfully aware of his heart’s desire. A gentle boy with a troubled past, Charlie has loved Wren since the day he first saw her. But a girl like Wren would never fall for a guy like Charlie—at least not the sort of guy Charlie believes himself to be.

And yet certain things are written in the stars. And in the summer after high school, Wren and Charlie’s souls will collide. But souls are complicated, as are the bodies that house them…

Sexy, romantic, and oh-so-true to life, this is an unforgettable look at first love from one of young adult fiction’s greatest writers. -Goodreads

Review:

**Warning: Spoilers.**

Sorry about the wacko big cover.  I couldn’t find anything smaller >.<  Also, I apologize if this review seems a bit scattered—I’m just really disappointed.

I’ve been wanting to read this book since it came out last year.  I ordered it from the library way before it came out and when I did end up getting it from the library, I, for some reason, returned it.  I think I was distracted with so many other books when it came out that I decided I’d get back to it later.

Since then I’ve been seeing the book in various book stores.  I didn’t buy it, but when I saw it on the shelf at my library, I was like, *fist pump* YESSSS!!!

Let me just say that Lauren Myracle will always be one of my favorite authors.  She’s so amazing, and I really, really loved her more middle grade novels, like The Winnie Years and Flower Power, and even her Internet Girls series.  I love LM’s standalone, Bliss, which was haunting.

So, like I said, I was excited… But, oh boy, was I disappointed.  And sadly, I didn’t finish it.

Now, I am not bashing this author in any way—I LOVE Lauren Myracle.  But this is probably the worst book I’ve read by her.  If this is the first book you read by her and you didn’t like it, you might want to try one of her other books, because they were amazing.  This review is going to be so hard for me to write, because I don’t think I’ve ever disliked a book by an author I love.  Let’s get this review started.

The Infinite Moment of Us got off to a running start.  Because I was in a semi-reading slump, I felt like I wasn’t picking up on a lot and had to go back and reread some areas.  It was instalove, and though it was explained that our love interests, Wren and Charlie, had some minor experiences when they felt a “connection,” I felt like the romance was a bit forced.  It was like the romance was there because it had to be there.  It didn’t feel natural or sweet, not like Myracle’s other romances in her other books.

Let’s talk about some of the characters first.

Wren was a girl who pretty much did whatever her parents told her to and never got in trouble.  She was very sheltered and overprotected and didn’t really have much experience with boys.  She kind of reminded me of Zoe from Lauren Myracle’s Internet Girls series.  Except I think I like Zoe better.  And Angela and Maddie seemed like much better friends than Tessa.

But Wren’s parents made me so angry.  They were so freaking controlling and it was driving me crazy.  There’s a difference between trying to protect your kid and trying to control every single.  Aspect of.  Their life, even down to what fruit she ate.  ?!?!

Charlie was pretty much the exact opposite.  He wasn’t sheltered at all and had a lot of dating experience.  I didn’t at all like Starrla, who was his ex or whatever, who spoke “gangsta-talk”… uh, yeah.  Anyway, I didn’t really like Charlie.  His past was somewhat interesting… kind of.  I didn’t like Charlie’s thoughts about Wren, and frankly, they made me uncomfortable.  A lot of vulgar language was casually thrown around, too, which made the reading experience just really… icky.  Yes, many YA books have cussing in them, but this just seemed overdone.

Tessa was Wren’s BFF who was I guess supposed to make everything a bit lighter… but she came across as someone with no filter when she spoke and unintentionally embarrassed Wren.

P.G. was… I don’t know.  I didn’t really read far enough to know more about him, but I didn’t really like him.

Wren and Charlie really didn’t know each other.  They’d exchanged waves and stuff.  And then, all of a sudden, Wren was pouring her heart out to Charlie about what she was going through with her parents and stuff.  I feel like many people can relate to Wren, with wanting to do what they want to do, but being afraid of disappointing their parents.

Occasionally, in disbelief, I would think that this book seemed a bit disastrous.  I just felt really frustrated with it.  I felt like the love interests had nothing in common.  They literally came from two different worlds.  I know they say that opposites attract, but c’mon, they were too different.

I was so detached from the story that I decided to head over to Goodreads and read some reviews.  I wasn’t even half way through the book.  And the majority of the reviews I saw?  Not good.

What saddened me the most is, I was spoiled for this book over and over… and I didn’t even care.

Lauren Myracle is known for being the 21st century’s Judy Blume.  She’s got a whole line of books on the “banned books” list, and she features a lot of mature topics in her books.  Many have compared The Infinite Moment of Us to Judy Blume’s Forever, which I’ve not yet read.

I read many reviews of this book, and I noticed a pattern.  A lot of people were glad that the intimacy in Wren and Charlie’s relationship wasn’t skimmed over like it is in many YA books, but most of them agreed that the intimacy was way too detailed to be in YA.  I ended up flipping through the rest of this book after deciding to not finish it and agreed—too graphic.  Wren and Charlie had known each other for, what, all of two months?  I just… I don’t know.  YA is directed at young readers and I don’t really think that’s something we want to read about in detail.  Like, graphic detail.  Maybe this would have been better placed in the NA genre.

I think Lauren Myracle was going for philosophical, because Wren and Charlie did have a lot of “deep” philosophical conversations… which I found my eyes skimming over.

I feel so harsh right now, because y’all know how much I adore Lauren Myracle’s books.  I’m really disappointed.  I can’t really give this any stars, because I didn’t finish it, but I don’t think it would have grown on me, even if I did.

I wish I could have liked this more.  But the characters seemed flat, the plotline seemed practically nonexistent, and it was overall disappointing.  I only got to page 118 before skimming through the rest of it and deciding not to read anymore.

Tell me what you thought of this book?  Did you think the romance progressed too quickly and felt unnatural?  Or did you really enjoy it?  I hope you did 😀

 

Let me know your thoughts!

