Book Review: Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1) by Rachel Hawkins


Hex hallTitle: Hex Hall

Author: Rachel Hawkins

Summary: Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her. -Goodreads

Review:

**Non-spoilery section**

This is book #1 for my Summer Reading Program.

What I knew about Hex Hall, prior to reading it:

  • It was by Rachel Hawkins

That.  Is.  All.  And this is my favorite way of going into a book!

I actually didn’t have high expectations for this book.  I’d never read anything by the author.  It had been on my TBR for a while, so when I saw it at the library, I picked it up.

And boy, was this a book.  The PERFECT book to pick me up after the Lauren Myracle Disaster (that’s what I’m calling it from now on, haha).  I LOVED this book!  It was fantastic!  There was literally never a dull moment!  I was laughing on at least every page.  It was light, humorous, and just freaking awesome!  I loved the pacing, which was balanced amazingly.  Swoon-worthy guys, mean girls, magic… oh, yeah.  This book was awesomesauce on pizza 😀

A rare thing for me is when I actually like a main character.  There are so many times where I like a book, but I don’t really like the main character(s).  Like June (Legend), or Clary (TMI).  You get the idea.  But I really, really liked Sophie.  She was so funny and sarcastic.  And she was pretty relatable in my book.

There were so many twists and turns that just had me reeling.  I can’t even— <— me being a stereotypical fangirl XD

But, seriously, I definitely recommend this is you just read a bad book, or if you’re in a reading slump, or if you just need to read something a bit on the cheery side.  This is your man.  Book.  Whatever.

I’m not going to say much else because I’m going to say everything else on my mind in the spoilery section, heheh.

This book is a definite 5 star-er, when I originally thought it would be a 3 star-er.  And I am desperate for the next book in this trilogy!  Gahh!

Favorite Lines:

I scowled.  Being manipulated has always been one of my least favorite things.  Right up there with snakes.  And Britney Spears.


Fangirling/Fanboying Section

**You have crossed into the dark side… the spoilery side… where there will be screaming… and rants… and just overall fangirling… muwahahaha…**

Okay, so we just jumped right into the action with this book.  Me likey 😀  I laughed so much with this book and had such a great time reading it!

So let’s talk about Archer.  OMG.  Hawt *mad laughter* I loved him.  Like, seriously.  And WHY WAS HE GOING OUT WITH ELODIE? I constantly asked myself.  I hated that chick, but… she grew on me.  AND THEN SHE DIED.  THE END.

Ughhhh… she was with Archer and I was like, STAHP.  But then she and Sophie got to be friends-ish, and all buddy-buddy, AND THEN SOPHIE JUST HAD TO MAKE OUT WITH ARCHER.  Like, I’m not blaming her, but… well, more explained in a sec.

Anyway, when Archer and Sophie had their super cute moments during cellar duty, I would do this really weird, creepy laugh that could have been easily translated to, “JUST KISS ALREADY, GAWD I’M GOING CRAZY HERE.”  I sounded like a dying seal, lol.  No joke.

Okay, so Archer and Sophie are kissing, right?  SHE SEES THE EYE TATTOO ON HIS CHEST.  OMG.  I FREAKED OUT.  I WAS LIKE, NOOOOO MY BOOK BOYFRIEND IS AN EYE!!!  And he tried to kill her!

So the tattoo’s on his chest, right?  And Elodie was all, after Archer escaped and all, “Why were you touching his chest, Sophie?”  But then she realized and she didn’t even get mad or anything, she just walked.  The freak.  Away.  AHHH.

Let’s talk about the crazy DEMONIC great-grandmother.  Now, I thought she was fly, but then Jenna the vamp (aka THE most awesome roommate ever.  And, no.  She doesn’t sparkle.  XD) was all, “That necklace you’re wearing contains dark magic…”  AND THE NECKLACE WAS FROM GREAT-GRAMMY.  WHO’S A FREAKIN’ DEMON.  OMG.  AND ELODIE WAS WITH HER, because this happened after Elodie found out about Sophie and Archer.

So, Elodie dies *sob* and Sophie’s all alone.  But the good thing is, she still has Jenna, who didn’t actually commit any of the crimes she was accused of.  ‘Cause I was getting worried there for a sec.

*sob* But I still can’t get over Archer… he’s totally going to be back.  And if he’s not… IF THAT BOY DOESN’T REDEEM HIMSELF… grrr.

Obviously I liked this book XD

Have you read Hex Hall?  What did you think?  Was it predictable?  I know some people think it was, but I’m just super slow at picking up on subtly-dropped hints in books.  Pathetic xD

And what do you think of my new reviewing format?  I don’t know if all my reviews are going to be like this, because it’s always hard for me to pull out the non spoilers out of all of my spoilery notes, haha.  But, yeah, let me know!

Favorite Lines:

I stared at her in shock.  It was one thing to get laid out by Archer in Defense, but being attacked out of nowhere by my great-grandmother was just embarrassing.

~

“Relax.  I’m not a psycho.”

“I know that,” I snapped.  “You’re the healing janitor dude.”

“Groundskeeper.”

“Isn’t that like a janitor?”

“No, it’s like a groundskeeper.”

~

“So if you can heal with your touch, why are you working out here as like, Hagrid, or whatever?”

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1) by Rachel Hawkins

  1. Rachael at The End of the Chapter says:

    I purposely skipped over the spoilery section because if you like this book so much I wanna read it for myself! It does sound really good, and I like stories with magic in them as long as the magic is done well. This sounds like it’s done well, and to have vampires, shapeshifters, witches, etc. all crammed into one school…well, that’s just a recipe for DRAMA! Adding this to my TBR list 😀

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

