Updates: Reading Slumps


Hey everyone!  Man, it feels like it’s been FOREVER since I last blogged!  I’ve still been reading your blogs, though I’ve even fallen behind with that in the last few days 😦  I think the reason is that I’m just feeling so… well, slumpish.

I mentioned in my last post that I was going through a strange-ish reading slump, which I’m still suffering.  Le sigh.  I have been reading, though.  It’s actually quite exciting, because the book I’m reading happens to be written by a fellow blogger, who I’m sure some of you are aware of! 😀 I’ve been reading Stolen Bloodline by Mishka Jenkins, over at A Writer’s Life For Me!  I got it from Amazon for my Kindle right away when I realized it was available (a few days ago), and I’m really enjoying it!  I’m so happy for Mishka and am so proud that she released her book 😀

There are a few other bloggers, like Topaz and Lynette, whose books I am anxiously awaiting 😀  It’s so inspiring to see these awesometastic bloggers on their way to publishing, and it’s even more inspiring for me to see that they’ve completed their books!  I’m really excited to read them and hope that I can do so soon!

Aside from this, I’ve been having trouble motivating myself to pick up my library books.  So far I only have three, thank the gods, because I’d feel much, much more overwhelmed with more books than that.  I don’t know what the problem is, but it’s driving me insane.  I plan on picking up one of these books (I’ve already started two of them sometime last week) tonight to hopefully get some reading in.  Maybe I haven’t yet hit the awesomeness of the books I’m reading…

These are the books I have from the library, and maybe if you’ve read them (and enjoyed them, lol), you can give me some non-spoilery motivation to get excited for them, or maybe even link me to your review!

Of neptuneOf Neptune by Anna Banks

I actually hadn’t been expecting a third book for this series.  I thought that the ending of Of Triton was a good way to end the series, so I’m a bit confused as to what Of Neptune holds in store for us.  The summary seems… well, meh.  I don’t really know what’s going to happen in this book, but who am I to judge?  I’m only about twenty-five pages in, so I guess I’ll have to wait and see.  But I don’t know if a third book was necessary.  What did you think of Of Neptune?

ShiverShiver by Maggie Stiefvater

I tried reading Shiver once about a year ago, but returned it to the library before finishing it.  I loved Maggie Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races, so I was expecting Shiver to be awesome.  But from what I recall (and from what I’ve read so far—I’m forty pages into this one), it’s just really dull.  And from what the summary states, the book seems really… cliché: “Grace has spent years watching the wolves in the woods behind her house.  One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—watches back.  He feels deeply familiar to her, but she doesn’t know why.”

I can count a ridiculous number of times the words “my wolf” were stated.  And the summary makes this book seem similar to a few other books.  Someone feels familiar, main character has no idea why.  Hmm…

Do you have anything positive to say about this book? 😀 Hopefully!  I really don’t want to put it down.

DemonglassDemonglass by Rachel Hawkins

I am most excited about this book, which I just picked up from the library 😀  I finished the first book in the Hex Hall series last week and was blown away!  I was not expecting it to be so good—but it was definitely worth the read.  Don’t think I’ll need any extra motivation to read this book, haha!  But I’m holding off on reading it until I finish the first two books listed.

That’s all for now!  Oh, one more thing!  I’ve been so darn slumpy, I COMPLETELY forgot to blog about my two-year library anniversary!  I’ve had a library card with my library for about ten years, but I only just started going frequently on a weekly basis two years ago, on June 25, 2012.  I have an envelope somewhere with a bunch of old library receipts (back when I used to save them XD).  Anyway, that’s pretty exciting for me!  Let’s shoot for three years, now!

Motivate me, my friends, and you shall get a cookie! 😀

-littleonion

8 thoughts on “Updates: Reading Slumps

  1. thebookheap says:

    I recently went through a mini reading slump. I think what helped me was finding a short and enjoyable book that you didn’t have to over think, like a favourite from when you were younger or a collection of short stories 🙂 helps to recharge those book batteries. Hope you get out of the slump soon!

    Like

  2. I’ve missed your posts on my reader! Sorry you’re in the middle of a slump – I hope you can get out of it soon. Sorry I haven’t read any of those books to help you out either. 😦 Glad you’re back blogging though! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! I’m glad I’m back, too 😀 Slumps are always difficult, but I think I’m already making my way out of one. I continued reading Of Neptune after putting up my post and was immediately drawn into it, as though I’d never left 😀 That’s a great feeling!!

      Like

  3. I really enjoyed Shiver when I read it a few years back, although it’s probably time for me to read it again. Have you read The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater? It is great as well.

    Like

  4. You should try giving Shiver another try! I think you’ll enjoy it 🙂 But it’s not for everyone. If you don’t like sweet, forbidden romances…then maybe put it down? Idk I love that series though! Also, I really love Rachel Hawkins’ Hex Hall series. READ I.T

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

