The A to Z Bookish Survey


5I’ve been seeing the A to Z Bookish Survey around recently, and decided to participate!  It looks fun, and I’m excited to answer these questions.

The A to Z Bookish Survey is hosted by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner, and I was tagged by Mariel @ All the Books!

Let’s begin!

Author you’ve read the most books from:
Lauren Myracle!  All together, I’ve read thirteen LM books (I had to go to Goodreads to make sure I wasn’t missing anything).  AND!  I just found out that she wrote another Internet Girls book!  Where Maddie, Zoe, and Angela are in college!  It’s called yolo.  Eeeeek!!!  It’s coming out August 26th, so mark your calendars, Lauren Myracle fans!

Best sequel ever:
Oh, man, this is a hard one.  There are so many awesome sequels!  The Celestial Globe by Marie Rutkoski, The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead, Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken.  SO many!

Currently reading:
Well, I’m glad you asked!  I’m actually reading a lot of books, which can’t be good for Project Don’t Overwhelm Me.  But here’s what I’m reading:

  • Of Neptune by Anna Banks
  • Thirteen by Lauren Myracle — I can put this down at anytime, because I own it, and I’ve read it a million times.
  • Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder — I’m very close to throwing this book against a wall.
  • Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry — I haven’t “touched” (I’m reading it in ebook form) this book since my trip to California… which was in June >.<
  • Stolen Bloodline by Mishka Jenkins

Yeah…

Drink of choice while reading:
Water, I guess?  Though lately it’s been Capri Sun.  I don’t usually drink anything exciting while I’m reading, lol.

e-Reader or physical book:
I usually read physical books better, because they’re there.  With ebooks, I can choose to ignore them more easily if I wanted.  Though I’m not against e-readers.  I just like physical books better.  Plus, I wouldn’t have a need for a bookshelf if I only bought ebooks.

Fictional character you would have dated in the past:
Uh, I wouldn’t have dated in the past?  XD But for the sake of this tag, let’s see… maybe Lars from The Winnie Years?  I don’t know, he’s been on my mind since I’ve been rereading a book from that series, lol.  Simon from TMI.  Jem from TID (I’m trying to be realistic here).

Glad you gave this book a chance:
Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout.  Let’s get one thing straight: I don’t read about aliens.  I mean, I saw the Sigourney Weaver movies (and they were awesome), and I saw I Am Number Four (which I wasn’t impressed with, but who am I to judge a book by its movie?), but I had never actually read about aliens until Obsidian.  And OMG.  Don’t even get me started.  All I can say is, I’m a Daemonatic (thanks to Pearl for introducing me to this amazingderful term!).

Hidden gem book:
OCD, The Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn.  Okay.  DUDE.  I will forever rave about this book, because it was incredible.  I really need to put this on my shelf, but I had read a library copy.  I read it almost a year ago, and it’s so.  Freaking.  Awesome.  Like, whoa.  And I feel like not many people have read it, sooo…

Important moment in your reading life:
Just going to the library again regularly really sparked my love of reading.  I’ve been able to read and discover so many books that I wouldn’t have read before.

Just finished:
Toughie.  Lemme check Goodreads… That would be Hex Hall.  Which means I haven’t actually finished a book in about twenty days :/ Not sure how I feel about that…

Kinds of books you won’t read:
Erotica.  And I feel like a lot of new adult falls into that category… so I guess I won’t read NA, either.  Maybe if I’m up to it one day.

Longest book you’ve read:
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling, at 870 pages.

Major book hangover due to:
I had an EXTREME book hangover after reading City of Heavenly Fire, which is what I think threw me into this reading slump.  And I finished CoHF more than a month ago.  Le sigh.

Number of bookshelves you own:
Uh… one?

One book you have read multiple times:
I guess I’ll just choose something at random.  *scurries away from laptop to pick a book* Okay!  I found one!  It’s called P.S. Longer Letter Later by Paula Danziger & Ann M. Martin.  THIS BOOK.  It kind of reminded me of Just As Long As We’re Together by Judy Blume (or maybe I’m thinking of Are You There God?  It’s Me, Margaret…).  And this book DEFINITELY has the “old book” smell.  Like, wow.

DSCN1408Preferred place to read:
Probably just in my room.  I’ve got everything I need (minus food) right here.

Quote that inspires you:
“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” ~J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Reading regret:
I don’t think I regret reading anything.  I mean, I’ve read bad books, sure, but I don’t regret reading them.

Series you’ve started and need to finish:
A lotVampire Academy.  The Maze Runner.  The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel.  Gahh.  *guilt*

Three of your all-time favorite books:
That.  Is.  Hard.

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
  • Twelve by Lauren Myracle
  • Anything Goosebumps or BSC.

Yes, that one was a cop-out.  I just couldn’t choose!

Unapologetic fangirl for:
Jennifer L. Armentrout.  Yessssss, this woman… so brill.

Very extremely excited for this release:
In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken.  This is the conclusion to her amazing The Darkest Minds trilogy, and I seriously can’t even.

Worst bookish habit:
Biting off more than I can chew in terms of books.  And then getting overwhelmed at the amount of books I checked out from the library.  I actually currently only have three books checked out, which is great!

X marks the spot—look at your bookshelf.  What is the 27th book?
This was the question I was looking forward to the most XD Okay, so the way I counted it, Twilight is the 27th book on my shelf.  Wahoo!

Your latest book purchase:
Hmm.. I actually don’t remember.  Oh, no, wait, my latest book purchases were New Moon and Eclipse, both by Stephenie Meyer.  I actually haven’t bought a book in a couple of weeks now… there’s a first!

Zzzz-snatcher—the book that kept you from sleeping:
The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.  This book is amazing, so if you haven’t read it, I suggest you do that 😉

That is all for the A to Z Bookish Survey!  This was really fun to do, so you guys should do it, too!  I can’t remember which of you have or have not done it, so I’m not going to tag anyone in particular, but hey, if you want to participate in this tag, feel free to do so!  If you already have done this tag, leave your links down below so I can check it out!  I’d love to see your answers.

-littleonion

P.S. This is my 500th post!  Yay!!!

12 thoughts on “The A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. joysofbookworms says:

    *grins* What an awesome tag! Some of those books I’ve read and LOVED, others I’ve heard many raves about but am yet to read and the rest I have no idea about. 😉 Congrats on your 500th post! ^_^

    Like

  2. I did this last summer; it’s a fun survey to do {and read!} 🙂 Question for you: did you like Hex Hall? I just finished Rebel Belle and enjoyed it quite a bit, and I am now debating whether I should check out Hex Hall or not. And congrats on your 500th post! I am one away from my 600th – scary!

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

