Book Review: Of Neptune by Anna Banks


Of neptuneTitle: Of Neptune

Series: The Syrena Legacy, #3

Author: Anna Banks

Summary: Emma and Galen’s kingdom and their love is threatened by long-lost Syrena in the brilliant conclusion to Anna Banks bestselling trilogy.

Emma, half human and half Syrena, and her Syrena love, Galen, need time together alone. Away from the kingdoms of Poseidon and Triton. Emma’s grandfather, the Poseidon king, suggests the two visit a small town called Neptune.

Neptune is home to both Syrena and Half-Breeds alike. But Emma and Galen didn’t sign up to be peacemakers between the ocean and the land-dwelling, freshwater Syrena. They didn’t bargain for meeting a charming Half-Breed named Reed, who can barely disguise his feelings for Emma. And they especially didn’t expect to find themselves in the middle of a power struggle that threatens not only their love but their ocean kingdoms.

In this stunning conclusion to her bestselling Syrena Legacy, Anna Banks thrills fans with more action and romance than ever. -Goodreads

Review:

*Going spoiler-free with this one!

And she finishes a book.  You know what, we should celebrate this moment, because I haven’t finished a book in for-freaking-ever (see what I did there?).  But you know what?  I think I’m finally getting back on track with this whole reading slump thing, which I’ve been battling for a really long time.  So there’s that.

Now, a lot of people were not expecting a third book in this series.  I know I wasn’t.  I think Of Triton, the second book in The Syrena Legacy trilogy, provided a suitable ending for the series.  And honestly, this would have made a great duology.  This book was actually a bit disappointing.

I have a bunch of rant-y notes sitting beside me, but I decided I’m going to take a different approach this review and be a little more informative (though I don’t know how informative this review is going to be) while trying to stay away from the spoilers.

One thing that has annoyed me over the entire course of the series is the dual-POVs.  Don’t get me wrong, Banks was able to make Emma’s and Galen’s voices distinctive, but it’s the way they were written: Emma’s POV is written in first person.  Galen’s POV is written in third person, which, as I’ve mentioned before, totally made me feel detached from his character.  And I’m a tad OCD when it comes to trivial things like this, so if you’re doing multiple POVs, you’re either going to write them all in first person, or you’re going to write them all in third person, or whatever person you like.  Just keep it the same!

The book kind of dragged, though that may have been entirely my fault—I’ve been reading this book for a while, and very slowly, so it might have just been my mindset.

Because Emma and Galen were taking a little trip, that meant leaving behind some of our other characters, like Emma’s mother, Grom, and the beloved Rayna and Toraf, who never fail to make me laugh.  I missed those characters a lot, and I think that they bring in a lot of the series’ personality.

The way the book ended before the epilogue seemed a bit abrupt at first.  The more I think about it, it was a nice ending to have before the epilogue, but it still seemed very rushed.  Or maybe that was just me trying to get through the book… >.<

I liked Emma in this book, even though her thought process was kind of driving me insane.  She was questioning a lot of the things she’d been told prior to coming to Neptune.  And it’s good to question.  Question everything.

I did not like Galen for the majority of the book.  (Minor spoilers: He was very possessive and controlling of Emma, and while that improved, it still got on my nerves.  Emma didn’t take any of his crap, though, so kudos to her. End of spoilers.)

In the end, I’m not sure whether or not this book was needed to complete the series.  Would’ve made a great spinoff, though.  OMG, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN AN AMAZING SPINOFF :O

There were quite a few disappointments and moments where I was literally saying, “Oh my god” because something was irritating me.  But hey, what can ya do?

I’m going to go with my gut and rate the conclusion to The Syrena Legacy a deserving 3/5 stars, which isn’t bad at all.  I guess you just kind of need to be patient with this book.

What did you think of Of Neptune, or of The Syrena Legacy series in general?  Let me know!  And it’s great to finally be out of that reading slump.  I was getting scared there for a sec.

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Of Neptune by Anna Banks

  1. I completely agree! The different POVs annoyed me so much, because I kept having to switch between first and third person in my head. And I think you’re right- it totally could have been left as a duology. Nice review! 🙂

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

