Book Review: Frostbite by Richelle Mead


FrostbiteTitle: Frostbite

Series: Vampire Academy, #2

Author: Richelle Mead

Summary: Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose…

It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if hand-to-hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks… This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price… -Goodreads

Review:

*This is a non-spoilery review!

It’s been a while since I’ve read a Richelle Mead book. The last book I read by her was The Fiery Heart, and I’ll be reading the next book in that series shortly, as it comes out very soon!

Richelle Mead’s books are always action-packed and full of romance and they’re funny. Frostbite is no exception. There were so many funny moments where I was just dying, and that’s something that I love in a book. Emma over at Books Forget Me Knot actually is the first person who recommended Richelle Mead’s books, quite a while ago. I’m so glad I decided to start them!

It actually took me a really long time to pick up Frostbite, despite owning it for a really long time. I think I read Vampire Academy at the beginning of this year.

Anywho, this book was incredible. I was literally going crazy and fangirling for all of the guys in this book, including Dimitri, which was really weird, because I wasn’t a big fan of Dimitri in the last book. I didn’t have any problems with him, he just wasn’t my cup of tea. But I really liked him in this book, and there were several Rose/Dimitri moments that made me hyperventilate. Heh.

I actually just thought of this now, but it’s kind of cool how the main places we know in this book are in Montana and Idaho. I can’t recall ever reading a book that was based in either of these locations, so it was refreshing.

The characters in these books are gold, man. In the last book, I was really annoyed with Rose because she was, let’s face it, rather full of herself. She seemed to have really matured in this book, though, while still managing to act like a normal teenager (as normal as her life could be, with vampires and all). She has an awesome personality, though, and is super blunt with people, which I also came to like.

My only problem with Rose is that she seemed to catch on to things very slowly. She has so much going on in her mind, but still.

Each character has his or her own distinct personality. I really felt all of the characters grew in this book, and we were even introduced to some new ones, like Tasha, who I really liked 😀

Richelle Mead really knows how to make two characters have chemistry. Like, omg.

(Spoilers: I literally squealed when Adrian finally came into the book XD He was great. I have a feeling it’s going to be very interesting to see how he grows as a character throughout VA, even though I already know how he turns out in Bloodlines—such a sweetie ^-^) End of spoilers.

This book was a perfect mixture of serious non-sparkly vampire politics and normal adolescent behavior that would come from people of Rose’s and her friends’ ages.

I was happy with the way the book ended and I’m so excited to get my hands on the next installment!

5/5 stars

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Frostbite by Richelle Mead

  1. I read this book last summer. I remember DNFing it than picking it up again. OKAY, I didn’t DNF it but my book was expired (borrowed it) so haha. I did finish it and liked it and I agree; the characters are awesome in this book! Though I thought it was kinda boring in the romance part and I’m actually happy that you-know-who died. Mouahahh lol. Anyway, nice enthusiastic review. 😀

    Like

  2. I have been considering reading these for a while… They seem like exactly the kind of books I would devour as a guilty pleasure! I’m glad to know that you enjoyed this one so much!!

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

