A Very Special Happy Birthday


Happy birthday to Harry Potter and his creator, J.K. Rowling, who have entered the lives of many through ink and paper, and changed them as well.

I hopped onto the Hogwarts Express pretty late: I started reading the books a few years after Deathly Hallows had been released, and a bit before DH part 2 was being released in theaters.  I did not grow up with this series.  I did not have the pleasure of buying the books right when they came out.  I didn’t go to midnight movie premiers.  I didn’t see any of the movies when they came out in theaters.  Those who were able to experience that… well, it just makes the series even more special to them, in their own, personal way.

012

A flashback to when I revealed my horribly worn copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. But I think this photo shows just how much I liked the book… it still looks like this, by the way.

Despite having not gone through the series at a more personal level, like growing up with it, I still love it.  I do believe that Harry Potter has changed my life.  Without it, I wouldn’t be writing this post at this second, because I wouldn’t own a blog.  Harry Potter opened me up to reading a lot more (though I’ve always liked to read—never to this extent), and I don’t think I would have read books that I’ve read if not for this series.

I liked to read, sure, but the majority of the books I read, pre-Harry Potter, were realistic fiction.  Harry Potter opened the doors for me to so many other fantasy books!  Percy Jackson, Inkheart, the Dead Is series.  I don’t know whether these books would have appealed to me before HP (I tried reading PJO maybe a year before HP and wasn’t into it), but I was definitely more open and willing to try out other fantasy books.

I’m really grateful to have read Harry Potter.  I’m grateful that it exists.  I’m grateful that it’s available to me so I can read it whenever I want.

J.K. Rowling has touched the lives of so many people with this brilliant series, and we will never forget.

Happy birthday, Harry Potter and J.K. Rowling.

JK Rowling

9 thoughts on “A Very Special Happy Birthday

  1. You and I are on the same boat on that matter 😀 I also started reading them after all the books were released, but that doesn’t make the special place in my heart for them any smaller ❤

    Like

  2. Same here, almost. I started reading them between the book releases of HBP and DH. So, I got DH on release day and I saw half the films in the theater. I was late to the party because I was an adult when they first came out so I thought they were too young.
    I’m trying to insure that my children grow up with HP, by doling out the books and films slowly. 🙂

    Like

    • That’s great that you got to see the movie! I ended up borrowing a friend’s DVDs of DH 1 and DH 2. I was sad to part with them, haha.

      That’s great that you’re doing that with your own children 😀 That’s actually a great idea.

      Like

      • I don’t want to keep my son from reading the first 2-3 books, but I don’t think he’s ready for the end of GOF or the darker tone of the last 3 books (he’s only 8). So, I figured I’d give them to him slowly. 🙂 He’s read SS and listened to the audiobook several times. I’m going to give him COS for his 9th birthday (I say give – I mean let him borrow my copy).

        Like

  3. Your friendly librarian says:

    I grew up with Harry Potter and was there for every midnight opening starting with book 3, but starting into the series now is still great. The books are already written so you don’t have to wait, there are all sorts of other books, movies and things (candy!) to boost the experience, and my favorite part is meeting brand new HP fans of all ages – whether they are adults, parents, or this new generation’s kiddos. I’m glad you’re enjoying the series!

    Like

    • Yeah, the nice thing was not having to wait for the books to come out—I already know what kind of torture that is! I read the series in 2010 I believe, and I always remember being so excited to read the next book 😀

      Like

Let me know your thoughts!

