Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon: Day 1


Dusting off the ShelfThe Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon is a read-a-thon hosted by Emily @ Books & Cleverness as a prompt to help awesome people who love reading and, consequently, buying books, read the books that have been sitting unread on their shelves for a while.


Day 1 is over for the Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon, and I think today was a pretty good day.  I kicked off this read-a-thon with Ruby Red, the first book in the Precious Stone trilogy by Kerstin Gier.  Finishing this book will have enabled me to complete the challenge that states I should finish any book that’s been neglected by me.  I started it at midnight, August 1st, and am more than half way through it.  I really love books on time travel, so it’s surprising that I haven’t read many on the subject, and that I waited so long to pick up this one.

So far, I think the book is good.  It’s interesting enough to hold my attention, but it’s not fabulous.  I’ve had my moments where I’ve laughed while reading it, but I feel like a lot of the characters don’t really have much personality.  There’s only a little wit (and you know how I love my witty characters ;D), so that was disappointing.

But I’m still enjoying the book, and if my reading goes as planned, I’ll have finished it by today.

Are you participating in this read-a-thon?  What was your day like?  Let me know, or if you did a post on it, leave me your link down below!

Progress Update:

August 1st:
-Pages read: 200 (60%)
-Books completed: 0

3 thoughts on “Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon: Day 1

  1. I’m also participating in this read-a-thon! I chose The Shining by Stephen King as my first read, and I’m currently at page 376 of 512 (I read about 200 yesterday…) So far so good! 😉

    Like

    • Oh, that’s great! The more the merrier 😀 I think 200 is a good page count. I didn’t get much reading done on Saturday, unfortunately, I had a long day, haha. Hopefully today’s a better day in reading for me, and I hope you get lots of reading done, too!

      Like

      • My days were exactly the other way around, I wasn’t able to read much yesterday… Hopefully I can at least finish The Shining today, there’s only about 100 pages left… Happy reading! 😀

        Like

Let me know your thoughts!

