Book Review: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier


Ruby redTitle: Ruby Red

Series: Precious Stone Trilogy, #1

Author: Kerstin Gier

Summary:

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust. -Goodreads

Review

I’m a horrible person.  I know. D:  I haven’t been keeping up with my updates for the Dusting off the Shelf read-a-thon, and I’m SO SORRY!!!  Things have really kicked up into gear, especially with school coming back into session (not looking forward to that, but what can ya do?).  But I have been reading!  And hopefully I’ll get a lot more reading done next week, as I’ll have some more spare time.

But for now, let’s discuss Ruby Red, the first book I chose to read for this read-a-thon.  As I’ve said before, I love books based in England, and I love books about time travel.  However, though the book met the criteria, it fell flat for me.  I wasn’t fond of the characters, nor did I connect with any of them.  It was disappointing, especially since I’d heard such great things about this book.  I purchased it sometime last year, so it definitely qualified for this read-a-thon.

The only character I really liked was Lesley, the main character Gwen’s best friend, and even she was a bit on the annoying side.  It seemed like, despite all of this new information being thrown at the main character, she was really optimistic.  Which isn’t a bad thing.  Gwen expressed her unhappiness with the situation, but she still seemed… not that upset.

It may have been the writing style, which I noticed included a lot of exclamation marks in the narrative, and I’m not used to that.

Aside from all of this, the characters didn’t have a lot of personality, in my opinion.  There were no witty remarks, which I missed.  The book was funny at times, I’ll give it that.

I’m also glad that after Gwen finds out it’s her who’s the time traveler, Lesley wasn’t just left behind.  She didn’t drop her friends and family for this, so point to Gwen.

I was also thinking that if they were to make a movie of this, Maggie Smith should play Lady Arista.  All I could see was Downton Abbey. XD

Toward the end, Gwen began to get on my nerves, but the last 30 pages of the book is when a lot of the excitement happened.  Kinda like Shiver.

Overall, this book was okay.  There were some pros and cons, but I don’t think I’ll be reading the rest of this series.  This book wasn’t for me, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t check it out.  Tell me what you thought of Ruby Red—did you like it?  Or were your feelings along the same lines of mine?  Let me know!

2/5 stars.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

    • Yeah, not my favorite main character, haha. I wish time travel books were more popular as well. I haven’t read too many, but there’s Gideon the Cutpurse by Linda Buckley-Archer, the first book in the Gideon Trilogy. Really loved this series! The first book actually had a title/cover change, and it’s now titled The Time Travelers.

      Another time travel series I started and always forget about is The Missing by Margaret Peterson Haddix. It’s a pretty long series, and I’ve only read the first two books, but they were great!!

      Like

  1. I’ve never heard of this series before! I love books which are based in the UK as well, especially in historical times! But after reading your review I don’t think I’ll bother reading this… ^^’ I’ve got so many books on my list at the moment and I keep finding more to read ahahha 😀 Have you read a Discovery of Witches? That is based in England and in the second book they time travel back to Elizabethan England 🙂

    Like

    • I *love* time travel books as well. They’re amazing. Unfortunately, I didn’t like this one, but if you ever do pick it up, let me know how you liked it! Maybe I’ll be inspired to pick up the next book. 😀

      Ooh, sounds fun! I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for tagging me!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t think I’ll like it either 😦 I’ve been reading a few negative reviews about it sooo…yeah! I’ll let you know if I do read it though 😀
        Your welcome!

        Like

Let me know your thoughts!

