BookBlogWriMo Week 1: History of Your Blog


BookblogwrimoIt’s November 1st, which means we’re kicking off #BookBlogWriMo!  Scheduled for the first day of BookBlogWriMo is the History of Your Blog.  I’ve talked about this so many times, but for the sake of this post, I’ll do it again 😀 Please bear with me…

When I was younger I’d always wanted a website, but I didn’t actually think it would happen.  But then, on August 2nd of 2012, I created my very first blog and called it “littleonionwrites”!  It had originally been for my fanfiction and other writing, but after I finished my first fanfic, it took months before I finished my second one.  I knew I didn’t want to just abandon my blog, so I started doing book reviews and talking about what I was reading, etc.  I also discovered so many other book bloggers, whose posts I enjoy reading immensely.

As I became more and more immersed in the book blogging community, I stopped posting fanfics to become solely a book blogger (with the occasional random posts xD).

That’s pretty much the story of my blog.  How did your blog get started?  Are you participating in #BookBlogWriMo?  If so, leave a link to your post and I’ll be sure to check it out!

-littleonion

14 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo Week 1: History of Your Blog

  1. I didn’t know you started this for fanfiction. What was it fanfiction for? I’m just curious if you don’t want to tell me I understand. I’m glad you found something that you enjoy talking about.

    My blog started out differently too with random writing at first. I’m going to do this too, but I think I’ll do a weekly post instead of one each day.

    Like

    • I actually wrote Harry Potter fanfiction that I started right during the peak of my Harry Potter obsession, haha. It’s actually still on my blog, but it’s probably awful!

      That’s great! I can’t wait to read your posts 😀

      Like

    • That’s cool! I’ve noticed a lot of book bloggers whose blogs were initially for their writing, and I think that’s really cool to add into the history of the blog, to see how it’s evolved over time. No one’s actually ever asked about my blog title before! xD It’s actually a name my mom suggested that I thought was kind of cool, and the “littleonion” part is the English translation of an Italian restaurant. That’s totally random, I know, but that’s were it all started!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post!
    You’ve been blogging for quite a long time now! That’s cool.
    This year I’m doing BookBlogWriMo too and it is exciting to see everyone post about the history of their blog, isn’t it?
    I also wanted to ask about the blog name but then the writing hufflepuff beat me to it! Guess Ravenclaw doesn’t get the points this time! 😛

    It sounds really cute “little onion writes” 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! And, yes, I’ve been blogging for a while 😀 It’s been a great experience so far! I’m so excited that so many people are participating in BookBlogWriMo, and I can’t wait to read other bloggers’ posts. I think it’s a great alternative to NaNoWriMo! I’ve never participated in that, but it seems really stressful, haha! I look forward to reading your posts, too 😀

      That’s funny that two bloggers in a day were curious about the name of my blog! XD I’m pretty sure no one’s asked before, lol. I’m really fangirling over the Harry Potter reference, by the way XD

      Like

Let me know your thoughts!

