BookBlogWriMo: How You Read


BookblogwrimoHello, everyone, and welcome to #BookBlogWriMo day 2!  Today’s topic is how we read, which I think is a pretty fun topic.  I’ll be covering what time of the day I read and in what format I read.  This is also most likely a scheduled post, unless I got lazy last night and didn’t finish the post… heheh 😄

reading

When I Read

I usually read at night, as that is the time of the day when I have the most time to chill.  Of course, with homework, not much reading has been going on at any time of the day for me lately, but I’m definitely hoping to rectify that!

Reading Formats

format

I really don’t have anything against e-books.  I own an e-reader (though I hardly ever use it for reading *cough*).  But, my format of choice is definitely a book in physical form, preferably in hardcover, though I’m becoming more partial to paperbacks these days.  Perhaps it’s the price difference… With e-books, I feel like I’m less-likely to actually finish the book.  Granted, I did read The Hunger Games and Catching Fire on my tiny iPod (I downloaded free PDF files of the books, but don’t worry, I later purchased the first two books in the series!), but those were two really good books.

But in general, I go for physical copies of books, mostly because it’s a tangible object rather than… a screen.


That’s all for day 2 of #BookBlogWriMo!  If you’re not participating, what are some of your reading rituals?  Do you prefer physical copies of books to e-books, or vice versa?  Let me know!  And if you are taking part in this month-long event, leave your links to your day 2 posts, I’d love to see what you have to say on the topic 😀

-littleonion

 

17 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo: How You Read

  1. I love physical books too but then it is easier to carry out loads of books in your smartphone or reader when you’re travelling or on the move. And I prefer quantity over quality most of the time.

    But with me, books or e-books mostly depends upon situation.

    Like

    • Ah, that’s true. Mostly when I’m out or on the go, I’m unable to read because I get distracted so easily, haha. I can barely even read in the car, which is quite unfortunate, considering I’d get a lot of reading done if I did.

      But you’re right when you say it all depends on the situation. Earlier in the summer I’d gone on vacation and had only brought one book with me (which I hadn’t been enjoying), so I whipped out my kindle to choose from lots of other books to read!

      Like

    • My mom isn’t a fan of e-readers, either, and for those reasons, too! I’m indifferent really, the only thing that holds me back is that I almost never finish books on my kindle. So I’ll keep reading books that are on paper, thanks very much xD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I never thought I’d use an ereader, but I really like my Kindle. It doesn’t compare to real books, but it’s just so handy. I’ve always liked paperbacks better unless I really couldn’t wait for a book.

    Like

  3. hncook4 says:

    I feel the same way about e-readers. I’m more likely to not finish an e-book than a physical book. I can hide my shame in my kindle instead of having to stare at the unfinished book on my shelf.

    I tend to read at night too. I’m usually busy throughout the day with something, so I end up reading at night in bed.

    Like

  4. Topaz says:

    Hardcover readers UNITE! *high fives you* I’m also having a hard time squeezing reading into my day… way too much homework nowadays 😦

    Like

    • Woot woot! 😄 Squeezing reading time in has been so hard, and I feel so guilty about it for some reason D: I just finished scheduling some posts, and then I sat myself down and read a book for an hour… It felt wonderful xD I’m hoping to get to bed at a decent hour now, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Topaz says:

        Oh, don’t feel guilty about it! Sometimes life happens – and school is, unfortunately, a priority at this point. :/ But I’m so glad you made time for reading today! And of course, BookBlogWriMo does help with getting into the readerly spirit 😉

        Like

Let me know your thoughts!

