BookBlogWriMo: Your Ratings System


BookblogwrimoHey, guys, and welcome to #BookBlogWriMo day fourteen!  Today’s prompt is about how we rate the books we read, and this kind of overlaps with yesterday’s prompt, which was about how we reviewed books.

fangirlingMy rating system is pretty generic.  I’m not intricate with my ratings at all, but if you are, thumbs up!  Sometimes when I have mixed feelings about a book, it’s hard to rate it with my boring rating system, which is why it’s great to have a more detailed rating system.  In these cases, I kind of break down the book and rate each category, like the plot, the characters, etc.

I have a 1-5 star rating system, and here is how I define my stars:

5 Stars: This book was fan-freaking-tastic!  I thought (nearly) everything was perfect, I loved the plot, and the characters were magnificent.  This was a truly gripping read.

4 Stars: This book was amazing, and though I did find a few flaws, I still think it was great!  The [blank] was really good, but [insert complaint] annoyed me a bit.  I still definitely recommend this book!

3 Stars: This book was good.  No more, no less.  It was an interesting book, but there were quite a few things that annoyed me.  I liked it, but it’s probably something I won’t revisit in the future.

2 Stars: This book was okay.  (When it comes to books for me, there’s a grand difference between “good” and “okay.”)  There were a lot of things that annoyed me, but something about it kept me reading.  If you were looking something intriguing, though, I probably wouldn’t recommend it.

1 Star: Nope.

I want to make clear that my ratings don’t have to mean a thing to you.  They are simply my opinion, and I certainly wouldn’t want you to disregard a book because I said I didn’t like it, or take my word for it when I say something is perfection.  I really believe that you should experience the books for yourselves and form your own opinions 😀


As you can see, my rating system is pretty standard.  In the end, though, it all depends on what my gut is telling me to rate a book.  How do you rate books?  Have you crafted a unique rating system for yourself, or do you use the “standard” system?  Let me know!

-littleonion

10 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo: Your Ratings System

  1. I use basically the same system you do (so that counts as the standard system I suppose). I won’t rate books five stars unless i loved almost every little bit and I won’t rate a book one star unless I hated it’s guts and almost couldn’t finish it. Nice post!

    Laura @BlueEyeBooks

    Like

  2. I use the standard system as well, mostly because I’m used to it and it feels so natural now. I find that I mostly give books 4s and 5s, which I guess means that I’ve been pretty lucky with the books I’ve read! Great post!

    Like

  3. Topaz says:

    I don’t do a rating system with my blog, but my personal rating system is basically the same as yours. I have pretty high expectations for five-star books, but not so much for four-star ones. 🙂

    Like

Let me know your thoughts!

