Book Review: True Confessions of a Hollywood Starlet by Lola Douglas


True confessions of a hollywood starletTitle: True Confessions of a Hollywood Starlet

Author: Lola Douglas

Summary: Fresh out of rehab, teen star Morgan Carter is taking a step out of the spotlight. She just doesn’t realize how big a step. Morgan’s mom sends her to Ft. Wayne, Indiana, to recover. Even with a makeunder, an assumed name, and a fake identity, Middle America is going to mean a serious lifestyle adjustment for this Hollywood starlet. -Goodreads

 

Review:

I discovered this book after waking up at some ridiculous hour and not being able to go back to sleep.

So, I logged onto my computer and went to YouTube to listen to music, when I thought of the singer, JoJo Levesque.  I used to LOVE her music years ago.  Sometimes I still listen to it.

Anywho, I learned she made a movie on Lifetime (don’t you just love Lifetime?) called “True Confessions of a Hollywood Starlet.”

Still wide awake, I went back to YouTube to see if it was available, and BA-BAM!  It was!  So I watched some of it and found out is was based on a book.  Because I was interested, I checked to see if it was at my library–which it was–so I ordered it!

And, here we are!

Of course, I started reading this right after I finished HoH–I needed to get my mind off the sadness and the feels for a little bit… Yep!  This definitely did the trick!  It’s not too big, and I read more than half of it in one sitting.  I haven’t done something like that in a long time.

In my mind, I don’t usually read chick-lit, so it was a nice, fresh experience.

At one point I had to, reluctantly, put the book down to make myself a midnight snack.  All of the pizza and the ice cream and the peanut butter was making me hungry!  (I had peanut butter and crackers…)

This book was written in a journal format in the POV of Claudia Miller, aka Morgan Carter, a drug-addict and alcoholic celebrity who was forced to hide out in a small town to preserve her career.

Eli, Eli, ELI!  I lurved Eli!  He was such a sweetie!  I ADORED LaTanya, too!

Favorite Lines:

“Do you have any idea how hard it is to get any work done when you’re trying to eavesdrop on other people’s conversations?  Not to mention trying to figure out why a tiny kiss from Eli Whitmarsh made you slightly weak in the knees?

Yeah, didn’t think so.

Oh my God.  I’ve started talking to myself inside my own journal.  This can’t be a good sign.”

OMG, I burst into a giggling fit right there!  At… one a.m.  Niiiice.

Here’s another favorite line:

Sure enough, Sappey picked that moment to acknowledge my presence.  “Ms. Miller,” he said, “so nice of you to join us today!”  He used that snarky, condescending voice of his, too.  I wanted to scream several expletives at him that would’ve surely landed me in detention, but I didn’t.  Instead, I packed up my bag and walked out of his room without another word.

Surprisingly, I truly enjoyed reading this book!  And, surprisingly, I’m going to rate it 5/5 stars!  I’ve already ordered More Confessions of a Hollywood Starlet.  Can’t wait!

Let me know your thoughts!