Book Review: My Fair Godmother (My Fair Godmother, #1) by Janette Rallison


My fair godmotherTitle: My Fair Godmother

Author: Janette Rallison

Summary: Finding your one true love can be a Grimm experience!

After her boyfriend dumps her for her older sister, sophomore Savannah Delano wishes she could find a true prince to take her to the prom. Enter Chrissy (Chrysanthemum) Everstar: Savannah’s gum-chewing, cell phone–carrying, high heel-wearing Fair Godmother. Showing why she’s only Fair—because she’s not a very good fairy student—Chrissy mistakenly sends Savannah back in time to the Middle Ages, first as Cinderella, then as Snow White. Finally she sends Tristan, a boy in Savannah’s class, back instead to turn him into her prom-worthy prince. When Savannah returns to the Middle Ages to save Tristan, they must team up to defeat a troll, a dragon, and the mysterious and undeniably sexy Black Knight. Laughs abound in this clever fairy tale twist from a master of romantic comedy. -Goodreads

 

Review:

One day, I was looking at books on Goodreads, and I saw this book, My Fair Godmother.  What made me order it was that it had a pretty similar cover to another book I read, The Secret Keeper.  Well, at least, aside from the shades, the pink (awesome) hair, the title, the big pink X across the word ‘fairy,’ and the word ‘fair’ scrawled in above it, it would have had the same cover as The Secret Keeper 😀

I hadn’t been too sure about this book because of the summary.  I mean, Cinderella?  Snow White?!  I was never into those Disney princess things–ew!  But, this was a great book!  Excellent, excellent, excellent!  It was funny, romantic… and, well, just PERFECT!

I’ve read one of Rallison’s books, All’s Fair in Love, War, and High School, and that one was great too, from what I remember, so I began to get more and more excited about My Fair Godmother.

I was immediately drawn into the book.  It just sucked me in and then spit me out at the end, haha!!!

My thoughts on Savannah in the beginning were that she was a spoiled brat who deserved to go back to the Middle Ages and see how people there lived.  They didn’t have luxuries like shampoo and flashlights.  She needed to know that she couldn’t take anyone or anything for granted.  By the end of the book, I’d say she definitely learned that lesson.

In my eyes, I think this book had a great moral.  Don’t take anything/anyone for granted.

The relationship between the two sisters reminded me of something–maybe another book?  I don’t know.  I can’t quite put my finger on it.  Maybe the relationship between Savannah and Jane reminded me of that between Claudia and Janine from Ann M. Martin’s The Baby-Sitters Club.  Both older sisters were smarter than the younger sisters, both younger sisters didn’t pay attention in school because whatever they were passionate about (Savannah: beauty, Claudia: art), they didn’t think they needed the education that school offered.

Anyway, I felt that Savannah was too quick to accept the whole “fair godmother” thing.  She barely questioned it.

Well, like I said above, this book was amazing, and I never once felt like closing it.  5/5 stars!!!  I can’t wait for the sequel, which is hilariously titled, My Unfair Godmother… BWHAHAHA!!!

There are a few things I’d like to complain about, though… these complaints don’t really affect my rating…

 

Let me know your thoughts!